Archive for the 'Lead, Traffic Generation' Category
What you should do:
Only write articles that you wrote or you have the exclusive rights to.
If you see a good article written by someone else and don’t want to mess it up, go ahead use the article, but make sure you give credit to the real author. You can always rewrite the article in your own words with your own flare and opinions, just make sure you don’t copy.
Otherwise you will have just wasted your time as the search engines will not recognize this as new content. And if you get to carried away with copying without author recognition there is a strong chance the search engines will ignore your site (ban you in some manner). So much for getting traffic.
Deliver in the article body on the promise you made in the article title.
Surprising or not, the title of your article is important. It should contain keywords, your important keywords for the niche you are in. Keywords that are used in the search engines. Then make darn sure that the content of the article is about those keywords. Don’t use high traffic getting keywords to get traffic to your site and then write about something else. The search engines will learn to not trust your site and not send you traffic.
Write content that has value and meaning.
Don’t write content that is so vague and bland you could make a dead person roll over and groan in agony. Everyone of you has come across an article or two that has essentially said absolutely nothing. Or even worse, included common-sense rehashed overly repeated tips or advice. I am telling you now, don’t go there. And you had better not be using bloated words & sentences to simply meet word count minimums. You would be better off not writing at all. Silence can be golden. Brevity is appreciated by all.
Make sure your content is readable.
I really don’t know where the idea that poor spelling and grammar means original home grown content got started. Let me get this straight – it does not. Your readers have got to be able to read it and understand it. Depending on your niche a little bit can be acceptable to absolute perfection is the only thing acceptable or you will lose all creditability. Please check out what is a the accepted norm for your niche.
All the traffic in the world is not going to help you if people can’t read and/or understand what you’re trying to say. If they don’t trust you they won’t buy from you.
Learn about one component you can add to your affiliate marketing campaign that will boost your income by 20% in 24 hours. You will learn the most important factors of this component and exactly how to get sales conversions like crazy.
What is this one strategy? One simple thing… Landing pages. NOT the merchants sales page.
What is landing page? A landing page is a single page on your website that your traffic is sent to upon clicking on your ad or any other sort of contextual link that leads to this sort of page.
The point of this kind of page is to have outgoing links to the merchant web pages through your affiliate links. It’s sole purpose is to promote the respective merchants’ products through your affiliate links to earn a commission.
Landing pages are useful in many ways. Through testing, I have found a simple landing page can boost my sales by conversions 20% or even more. This is because you can use your landing page to take out all of the guess work for the visitor. If you can answer a question for the visitor, without them having to leave your landing page to do more research, you are more likely to convert that person to a sale.
Usually there are two types of landing pages. One being a testimonial type landing page (be very careful with these-new laws in place), the second (and more popular) being a review type landing page.
In this article some of the key components of a review type landing pages that can explode your affiliate sales if optimized correctly.
A good headline is essential on any landing page. A good headline will list a major benefit of the product(s) you are promoting. This gets the attention of the visitor and tells them whether it is worth their time to stay on your page or not. Will it solve their problem.
Headline Example:
‘Discover How You Can Add 30-50 Yards of Laser Guided Precision to Your Golf Stroke’
Through testing I have found that landing pages that target and review 3 to 7 products converted better than promoting 1,2 or more than 7 products. 3 to 7 products keeps your visitor focused. Adding any more products can confuse your visitor causing them to leave your site forever. Less products does not give your visitor enough of a choice and they are more likely to have to do more research (off of your page) to find the best solution.
Brief product descriptions allow you to outline each products pros and cons. If you can Identify a certain con that your visitor is searching for in the products you are promoting, your sales can go crazy.
Some people are visual learners. Giving these visitors a visual representation of your review can drastically increase the click through rate. Also these images are good to break up the monotony of text on your landing pages.
Images should be linked to the merchants sites as prospective buyers often expect these images to take them to the site in which they can obtain the product or service.
Exit points are simply links to the merchants sites that contain your affiliate ID. You should have multiple and blatant exit points so the buyer does not have to search to find the link.
You can include exit points on images, call to action statements, as well as other things on your landing page. The main goal is to make these extremely visible.
A well constructed landing page can drastically improve conversions and boost sales. If you expect to construct an attractive landing page, I suggest either becoming fluent in HTML and/or purchasing an html editor such as Macromedia Dreamweave or outsourcing.
These products are quite expensive, but have a large array of features that you can use to virtually achieve any look or feature on your page.
There’s also a great FREE HTML editor over at NVU. This is nearly as good as anything you could pay for, so if you’re strapped on cash, grab that.
Your landing page need not look like it cost a millions dollars, but rather clean simple and functional. Too many graphics, glitter, animation and obvious sales pushing jargon will send the prospect somewhere else – quickly!
Remember you get 3-5 seconds to catch their attention. So you had better let them know that you have the solution to solve their problem right away.
Want some free web site traffic?
explodes sales and profits – FAST!
business, just as they have done for thousands of other satisfied web site owners.
close the doors to new customers.
Google Makes Facebook Pages a Higher Priority for Businesses
Google Gets Biggest Missing Piece in Real-Time Search Puzzle
Google announced via Twitter this week, that public status updates from Facebook are now included in the search engine’s real-time search feature. That means the largest social network in the world is getting play in Google’s real-time search alongside Twitter, MySpace, and others, and these real-time results are often featured prominently on the first page of search results for the hottest queries.
Apparently only updates from Facebook PAGES are indexed, and according to Danny Sullivan, that includes links, status updates, photos, videos shared by page owners (not comments made by the fans). Any Facebook update (from regular user profiles) can be shared publicly, so I wonder why these aren’t being pulled. Results from Twitter and other places aren’t only from branded sources.
This seems to indicate that brands should be getting a good amount of play for Facebook appearances in Google’s real-time search results, and possibly in the real-time search results in general (due to Facebook’s huge user-base). Right now, Facebook isn’t dominating the results, but that is bound to change with it being the largest (by far) social network on the web.
A lot of brands who don’t have Facebook pages in place are likely going to consider this a new reason to create one. Here are some tips for making a good one and promoting it.
This should also lead to Facebook Pages getting more fans, due to the increased exposure. Beware, however, that running a promotion on your Facebook Page may cost you ten thousand dollars, because Facebook’s policy guidelines indicate that you must get written approval from a Facebook account rep. In order to get one of those, you must spend that much in advertising, according to Eric Eldon of Inside Facebook.
Now Google’s real-time search results include (as listed by Sullivan) Facebook, MySpace, Twiter, Google Buzz, FriendFeed, Jaiku, Identi.ca, TwitArmy, Google News links, Google Blog Search links, new web pages, and freshly updated pages. At this point, Google generally only shows the real-time results for newsy/trending topics.
Can You Be Successful Without a Website?
I don’t think there’s any question that you need a web presence to survive in today’s business climate. But do you still need a traditional website, or has the web moved on in that regard?
First off, let me be perfectly clear in that I’m not advising anybody not to have a website. That said, there are a lot of ways to have a web presence without actually having a site, and let’s face it – maintaining a site (let alone a successful one) takes time, money, and resources.
According to data from Compete, Facebook has become a bigger traffic source than Google for some sites, and for many others, it is right up there with Google as a major traffic source. If it can drive the traffic, then that means the people are already at Facebook. You can be on Facebook without having your own website. Businesses can build a Facebook Page, complete with analytics provided by Facebook itself, and they can spend time making that page a good one. Here are some tips on how to do that. Facebook pages are perfectly capable of being found in search engines. In fact, they are often right on the first results page.
You know what else is often right on the first page? A set of local search results from Google Maps, courtesy of Google’s Universal Search integration. Within those results (which are very often right at the top of the SERP) are links to individual businesses’ “Place Pages”. From here, users can find coupons, reviews, store hours, etc. There is a very good chance users will find this before they find your site anyway.
Google is actually going to great lengths to get people using these Place Pages. They are even sending out stickers with barcodes for stores to hang on their windows. When a user scans this barcode with their mobile phone, they will be taken to the business’ Place Page. Social media profiles can also appear on these pages (although so can website links of course).
I probably don’t have to tell you that the web is rapidly becoming more mobile. Smartphone usage and mobile broadband subscriptions continue to accelerate, and people are using a variety of devices, operating systems, browsers, and apps. Making sure you have a site that looks right across all of these is no easy task. This is not so much of a worry when it comes to Facebook pages, Google Place Pages, and other third-party entities.
In many cases, it seems that small business sites are becoming harder to find through organic search. If you look you can find them, but users want convenience, and they are probably not going to look too hard if they can find what they are looking for on the first search results page (or right within Facebook where they’re already spending their time).
Social profiles show in up in search, and often early. The very nature of social media is viral. If one Facebook user becomes a fan of your Facebook page, that user’s friends are going to see it. Then, maybe a couple of them also become fans. Then maybe a couple of their friends become fans, and that trend can continue on and on. The more people who become fans, and the more exposure that page gets, the more chance that page has of acquiring links, which of course can lead to better search engine rankings, not to mention a larger presence on Facebook itself, where a large percentage of Internet users are already spending a great deal of their time. Your reputation and following within the social networks themselves may do your profile well in the eyes of Google too.
If you sell things online, there are obviously many different options out there without having to sell from your own site. In fact, even Facebook and e-commerce are on the road to becoming more and more closely attached. People can buy/sell physical goods through Facebook.
A great deal of focus has been placed on Facebook in this article for the simple fact that it is the world’s most popular social network. That could all change in time. But that doesn’t mean the points would not sill apply to other services. Google is going to be placing a lot of emphasis on Google Buzz this year, and it’s going to become integrated with more and more Google products. Currently, Google profiles are kind of the central place for a Buzz presence. Users can include any links they wish right into that profile (Facebook page, Twitter account, blog, eBay/Amazon listings, etc.)There’s no telling how big Buzz can be, and there’s always the possibility that something else will come along and take the world by storm. And that is one of the reasons…
Why it Still Pays to Have a Site
Can you be successful without a site? I think so. However, having a site gives you a more stable foundation, and still creates more opportunities than if you didn’t have one. When you have a site, you have control. You don’t have to adhere to the policy guidelines of any third-party platform. If Facebook decides to shut its Pages down (as Yahoo did with GeoCities, for example), you still have your own site that they can’t touch. For that matter, having your own site certainly lends credibility to your brand.
Still, social networks continue to work on making data more freely able to flow among one another via a number of open standards like Activity Streams, AtomPub, OAuth, PubSubHubbub, Salmon and WebFinger. “The idea is that someday, any host on the web should be able to implement these open protocols and send messages back and forth in real time with users from any network, without any one company in the middle,” says Google software engineer DeWitt Clinton. “The web contains the social graph, the protocols are standard web protocols, the messages can contain whatever crazy stuff people think to put in them. Google Buzz will be just another node (a very good node, I hope) among many peers. Users of any two systems should be able to send updates back and forth, federate comments, share photos, send @replies, etc., without needing Google in the middle and without using a Google-specific protocol or format.”
Google itself, even has its own site dedicated to making user data for its various products exportable. That’s just Google, but the web in general appears to be moving more in this direction.
I’m not saying that you shouldn’t have a site, or even that you don’t need one, but I think it’s an interesting discussion. For now, I’m going to say having your own site is still in your best interest, but has a more social Internet with more portable data made a standalone site less critical? Is having a website going to be less important in the future? I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the subject.
Ways to Get Fresh Links to Old Content for Better Search Rankings
Chris Crum | Staff Writer
Google Doesn’t Care if You USED to Get Links
You may have gotten some good links in the past, but don’t count on them helping you forever. Old links go stale in the eyes of Google.
Google’s Matt Cutts responded to a user-submitted question asking if Google removes PageRank coming from links on pages that no longer exist (for example, GeoCities pages that have been shut down). The answer to this question is unsurprisingly yes, but Cutts makes a statement within his response that may not be so obvious to everybody.
“In order to prevent things from becoming stale, we tend to use the current link graph, rather than a link graph of all of time,” he says. (Emphasis added)
Now, this isn’t exactly news, and to the seasoned search professional, probably not much of a revelation. However, to the average business owner looking to improve search engine performance (and not necessarily adapting to the ever-changing ways of SEO), it could be something that really hasn’t resonated. Businesses have always been told about the power of links, but even if you got a lot of significant links a year or two ago, that doesn’t mean your content will continue to perform well based on that. WebProNews has discussed the value of “link velocity” and Google’s need for freshness in the past:
Link velocity refers to the speed at which new links to a webpage are formed, and by this term we may gain some new and vital insight. Historically, great bursts of new links to a specific page has been considered a red flag, the quickest way to identify a spammer trying to manipulate the results by creating the appearance of user trust. This led to Google’s famous assaults on link farms and paid link directories.
But the Web has changed, become more of a live Web than a static document Web. We have the advent of social bookmarking, embedded videos, links, buttons, and badges, social networks, real-time networks like Twitter and Friendfeed. Certainly the age of a website is still an indication of success and trustworthiness, but in an environment of live, real time updating, the age of a link as well as the slowing velocity of incoming links may be indicators of stale content in a world that values freshness.
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Do you think link freshness should play a role in search engine rankings?
Let us know.
So how do you keep getting “fresh” links?
If you want fresh links, there are a number of things you can do. For one, keep putting out content. Write content that has staying power. You can link to your old content when appropriate. Always promote the sharing of your content. Include buttons to make it easy for people to share your content on their social network of choice. You may want to make sure your old content is presented in the same template as your new content so it has the same sharing features. People still may find their way to that old content, and they may want to share it if encouraged.
Go back over old content, and look for stuff that is still relevant. You can update stories with new posts adding a fresher take, linking to the original. Encourage readers to follow the link and read the original article, which they may then link to themselves.
Leave commenting on for ongoing discussion. This can keep an old post relevant. Just because you wrote an article a year ago, does not mean that people will still not add to it, and sometimes people will link to articles based on comments that are left.
Share old posts through social networks if they are still about relevant topics. You don’t want to just start flooding your Twitter account with tweets to all of your old content, but if you have an older article that is relevant to a current discussion, you may share it, as your take on the subject. A follower who has not seen it before, or perhaps has forgotten about it, may find it worth linking to themselves. Can you think of other ways to get more link value out of old content?
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Do you get fresh links for old content? Why do you think that is?
Share your thoughts.
77 Ways to Get Traffic. Resurfaced by Micheal Roberts, the guy who made Traffic-Bug to help you submit your articles to hundreds of directories. Watch the video then download the ebook. Browse thru it, never know, may pick up some info.
Happy SEO !
Which came first – the chicken or the egg?
For those marketing on the internet it would be; which came first – the lead or the sale? The traffic or the conversion? Well that seems pretty obvious, huh! The answer is …? Confused? Think about it.
Why do so many of you work on the traffic when your site does not convert? The question is which should come first? Traffic or conversion? The conversion.
If the entire world clicked to your site and you did not get one single sale, did all that traffic make a difference? Did you make money? You spent a lot for sure, but produced none.
Go to your website and check it’s conversion rate. Are you happy with it? Could you be doing better? It is not always the ad that is the problem.
Is your site a:
mess? stuff all over it, unorganized, confusing, full of animation, lots of large bolded headlines that really say nothing, opt-in box way below the fold, a long and boring video, a long and boring sales copy, no reason or benefit for why the consumer should buy from you, no sense of urgency, way too many graphics – looks like Las Vegas, beautiful but lost, paid way too much for the site, too much about you or your product and nothing about the consumers problem being solved, just plain not organized, does not tell the customer what he/she should do next, are you to proud of/in love with your site to change things. And this is just a few out of many things that could be wrong.
Bottom line if your site does not catch the leads attention in 3 seconds or less you’ve lost out. If it does not explain to them how there problem is solved with you in the next 3 – 5 seconds you’ve lost out. If they have got to search for the buy button you’ve lost out.
If you are running analytic software (Google for one, it’s free) on your site you can see where they left, how long they were on each page and what keywords brought them to the page and if they came back.
You must get your site to convert first. Then blow it away with traffic.
I was so busy talking about the free CPA Report I forgot to put the link in for the Pay Per Click Formula 2.0. Sorry. I know the video was long, but the free report is very good and the home study course PPCF2.o is awesome.
I bought the course and am starting to implement it now. I went through the members area and was blown away by all of the stuff he has there. So many excellent strategies. So unless you are already a CPA marketer, you’ll not want for something useful or new…even then I think you’ll see something you had not thought of.
Have a great day!
Okay, all of us need traffic whether you think so or not. Gauher Chaudry, a CPA marketer has written a FREE 89 page report full of information on obtaining traffic.
FREE CPA REPORT
Not into that CPA stuff? Doesn’t matter. CPA is all about TRAFFIC and this is what you need. Besides conversions. And no returns and customers who buy again and again and…
Sorry. Fantasies can be obsessive sometimes.
Check out the video and see what it’s all about.
FREE CPA REPORT
The traffic exchanges get a bad wrap so often that many marketers only use them till they can afford a ‘better way’ to get traffic. Some just totally avoid them calling them a waste of time. Well, if you are going to manually click, it might waste your time. But this is also a good way, especially if you are new to I.M., to see other landing pages.
Do these landing pages look gaudy with too many graphics, too much bold lettering, all red in color, hard to read, no idea what they are talking about? Which ones make you stop? Want to buy? Been on the exchange for a long time? What do these sites look like? Study these.
But did it occur to you that the traffic exchanges don’t work because of you, not the exchange? Many of these exchanges have between 200,000 to 500,000 or more members and are still growing. That’s a lot for something that does not work. Think about that.
I really doubt that a half a million people are going to pay for something that doesn’t work. They do drive traffic to your website. So what is the problem if it is not the traffic exchange. Oddly enough it is the same problems almost all internet marketers have when they first start out. Many do not catch their mistakes till later down the road, but by then they have washed their hands of exchanges. Too Bad.
It is not a secret, many people just don’t ever figure it out.
One problem is not understanding how a surfer on a exchange surfs and how to build a opt-in/landing page that will catch their attention. The second is NOT using a landing page. The Internet Marketer would just rather send them to a long and (sometimes boring) sales copy page that, most likely the merchant put up. If you are surfing, you are not going to stop and read that (unless it’s a Frank Kern sales copy).
Traffic exchanges are a completely different world. But in reality, if you can create a squeeze page that can capture the attention of a surfer in 5 secs or less while they surf several exchanges at once – you have one heck of a squeeze page and should have no problem getting traffic from the rest of the net.
To learn how to profit from traffic exchanges and all the other many mistakes that so many internet marketers make click here and check this out. Even if you don’t want to do the exchanges the info can still be applied. If you can catch the attention of a internet surfer who is busy driving up his credits on several exchanges at once who has probably looked at over several hundred sites already…well, the information couldn’t hurt.
Click here and make a few improvements. You won’t regret it.
This is a quick one today. Here are a couple of things you can do to add traffic coming to your blog or website or add to your list that your are building.
1. Let’s be sociable. Why not make it easy for people to share you or find you again? This plugin adds links to the bottom of every article allowing your users to share your articles with popular social networks such as Digg, Technorati, and Twitter. This helps people find your site when they are searching popular social networking sites and brings them back to your blog for more..
2. Blog pinging notifies blog servers that your blog has recently published new content. It shares your content across other networks, increasing your blog’s exposure, but excessively pinging these servers can get your site banned or blocked from future blog pinging. So you have to make sure that you are pinging these servers when necessary. This plugin will handle when and when not to ping these blog servers, optimizing how often you ping.
3. Install optin forms on your blog. This plug-in will help those who have not been able to do so because they did not know how and/or did not have the code. This plug-in requires no code, just the ability to be able to download it and install.
4. Here’s one I thought I would just throw in. After all I only said a couple of things. But I think you will like this one. How would you like to put a banner on your blog where you want it to go? Not where the blog wants you to stick it? Well take a look I did just that.
Now I have banner ad at the top of my post under the title and within the paragraphs. Not that you should make a habit of posting banners this way. But this plugin can put banners in widgets, sidebars, top, bottom, middle of post and it can rotate several banners in one spot. But best of all, it can track your banner impressions and clicks.
Well now that my blog looks like a Christmas tree, I’ll say the best of success to ya! Happy Holidays!!!
Wouldn’t this be a dream come true! How about it, heavy traffic every day on the url to your site. And even better – heavy conversions everywhere, no ending in site, every ‘BUY NOW’ button backed up.
Ahh, the perfect traffic problem to have. Overwhelming traffic. Millions of internet shoppers with card in hand ready to buy…oh my…$$$$….zzzz…..
OK, Snap out of it! While this may be the utlitmate fantasy for internet marketers when it comes to internet marketing we all know traffic is hard to get, hard to maintain and hard on the budget. Especially good quality traffic that converts ever so easily.
But Jeff Johnson with his Underground Training Lab 2.0 may be able to very closely match the above scenario. You definitely want to check this out:
If for some reason (like you’ve been on vacation outside of our solar system) you don’t know who Jeff Johnson is…
He’s one of the most elusive and sought out “free traffic and money” coaches in our community …and is pretty much considered the “KING OF SUPER AFFILIATES”.
Basically, he’s an online genius (have you ever heard the guy) who truly understands how to create systematic and duplicatable success. Lots of other people (”smart” people) totally jive with King’s mojo and they’re crushing it.
In fact he’s taken his proven system and created a simple paint by number approach to generating massive traffic and money on demand.
Check out “Underground Training Lab 2.0″:
Look, if you are into the free traffic thing and/or if you are considering or currently promoting products on the internet regardless of the niche, you will want to take advantage of Jeff’s training program and plug into his system now while you still can. By the way Jeff is give away FREE SEO SOFTWARE.
But, hey, don’t take my word for it. See what other people are saying about Jeff by clicking this link:
It’s really much easier than you can imagine, he’s been proving it for years. For at least the last 5 years he’s been quietly earning thousands of dollars a day. Occassionally hitting several hundred thousand dollar days. What a nice drop of pocket change to have here and there, ocassionally.
Well look guys Jeff does not take on clients very often and we are entering entering PRIME MARKETING TIME. This is the time of year where people start buying more stuff. (use Jeff’s stuff to send them your way) Have you planned your promotions? This year it’s time to make a REAL BIG difference.
We have Halloween, Thanksgiving, “The Holidays” and more random reasons to SELL YOUR STUFF. It’s time to start planning and strategizing NOW. Boy, does Jeff do that. If he plays chess, watch out!
If your still sitting on the fence go watch this FREE video and get some info you can use. You can also see what he is really about. But put on your high speed hearing headphones – he talks fast. He will also blow your mind. This is awesome so LISTEN. Replay and take notes. Look for the free software.
FREE VIDEO, LOTS OF USEFUL INFO – FREE
To duplicatable Success!
P.S. Jeff and his team really do take you by the hand and show you exactly how to DRIVE real traffic which translates into real checks that you take to the bank month in and month out.
P.S.S. Jeff just added a new lower priced option for the coaching club I’ve been telling you about: $97 gets you in, which means…You save three hundred bucks off the regular “All Access Pass” price. It’s called “All Access Pass Lite”. No excuse not to be ready for the Holiday Season.
So if you miss out on the Holiday Shopping Season because you didn’t use Jeff’s stuff… Don’t look at me.
It’s Your World…Make The Most Out Of It
Lori
What would you say to a product that did all the work to build your list of targeted leads? What would you say if the product was very, very reasonably price? Far cheaper than outsourcing the work. And had the features you wanted and needed. Features that you could customize?
Well, here is something for you list-building addicts! Which should be everyone. This unique technique is so easy I bet your first 100 hundred sign-ups that you will over do it. You’ll have it everywhere!
Watch all the video’s because there are several ways to use this new tool. So let’s roll it.
Instant Capture Page Video 1 What is it?
Instant Capture Page Video 2 In the Exit…
Instant Capture Page Video 3 Twitter Explosion
That’s all folks! This is easy, no rocket science here. Get Your List Built NOW!
You NO longer have excuse to not have a list.
Remember it!
You should, it could be costing you big bucks. You already spend mega dollars of your hard earned money to advertise, why not lower your cost to more reasonable levels. Learn what your Quality Score is and what you can do to improve it.
Google is a for profit business even though it has many excellent freebies you can use whether or not you use the Adwords feature. One way Google makes its money is through its search engine ad listings. The more relevant the ad listing to the keyword searched for, the better the experience the user has when searching, the more often the user will come back to Google to search.
So from the advertiser’s point of view. The more relevant your ad and the keyword is to your ad the better it is for everyone. You get a targeted customer who is more likely to click the ad and buy, the searcher gets the information they were searching for and Google gets paid because they clicked your very relevant ad.
But there is one more thing that Google does for you the more relevant the ad is. Think of it as a reward for being relevant. Google will lower your bid cost for that keyword and your ad will move up on the page and or move closer to the number one spot on the first page of search results. This is what you are all about. Getting your ad in a spot where it can be seen and clicked on.
Quality Score
The Quality Score is made up of three elements:
1) Relevance. The relevance of your ad that is displayed to the keyword phrase typed in by the seacher. The stronger the relevance the better.
TIP: Make sure the keyword is in the ad, preferably in the headline and in the display URL in your ad. Many of you know this but don’t do it.
2) Click Thru Rate. The Click Thru Rate is a powerful component of the Quality Score. Click Thru Rate (CTR) is the rate or percentage of people who see your ad, click on the link and go through to your site. So if 200 people see my ad and 24 click on the link and go to my site that is a CTR of 12% (24/200=.12 x 100 = 12%). The higher the CTR the more it shows Google that your ad is relevant to that keyword phrase and search result. Google likes this. (All hail Google!)
TIP: To help increase CTR in your ad utilize the following:
*Use Keyword macros. It looks like this {KeyWord: keyword headline}. The macro:{KeyWord: Your KeyWord Headline} tells adwords to put the searchers keyphrase in your ad headline replacing your headline. Your headline is the default headline. If the searchers keyword phrase is longer than 25 characters it will defualt back to your headline. Captializing the K and W in the KeyWord Macro will automaticall bold every word in your headline. Imagine the searcher finding exactly what he/she is looking for in your ad!
*Exact Match – [keyword] will display your ad if the search keyword phrase matches your keyword exactly. This is the best.
*Phrase Match – “keyword” will display your ad if the search keyword phrase contains your keyword term. Good, but not the best.
*Broad Match – your keyword ad will display if the search keyword phrase contains your keyterm words in any order. Not the best to use especially if your keyword has many meanings or uses. This is one most often used unwittingly advertisers. You will get a lot of useless impressions that will lower your CTR.
*Negative Keywords- -keyword, minus sign keyword will block any keyword that you don’t want coming up in the search. Like the word Free (Google doesn’t like free) or any word that does not really apply to your product or the type of targeted customer you want. Really want to use this if you are going to use broad match.
*It is human nature to believe that people are holding information back – either on purpose or by accident. So use this to your advantage. Use the word secret, closely guarded, insider, under the table, exposed, must read or any words that imply that no one knows this information and you are letting them in on it.
*End your headline with a question mark. It will boost their curiosity or make them want to answer or see the answer. You have left an opening that needs to be closed and people will seek to close it.
*In the second line of the ad create a big benefit for the reader. A benefit is what the product will do for them. A feature is something specific about the product that builds its value. When you look for a benefit dig deep for a psychological value. Money is not always the answer, but what can that money help them get or do something that is of great value to them.
3) The Landing Page. The landing page from the url displayed in the ad. The more relevant your landing page is to your keyword and your ad the better.
TIP: If you are a Internet Marketer who knows HTML you have an advantage. If you outsource your work make sure they know HTML and know why to apply these tips below. To help your landing page, optimize these items below. They are important and they will also help your page ranking.
*Title Tag – that’s the text at the top of the browser page, way at the top, usually the grey area. Get your main keyword in the title.
*Meta Description Tag – a short readable description using main keywords written about that page for search engine results. In other words, a short description about that page like you would for an Ezine Article. Do one for every page or at least the main pages.
*Meta Keyword Tag – add 1 to 3 keywords to each page specifically. Don’t overdo it. The keyword should match the content on that page.
*HTML Tags – the image alt tag – is for images on a web page. The search engines cannot see images but can read text. So write what the image is about and if you can, throw in a keyword.
*On your display URL leave off the “http;//www.” Capitalize each word in the URL and in the headline. If possible have the domain name the same as the URL in the ad and on the landing page or as close as you can get.
QS: The Formula
I bet you did not know that Google is also in the auction business. You bid the maximum price you will pay to get your ad to show up in a certain position in Google search. You should never bid more than you are willing to pay. If you are the highest bidder you get spot number one, second highest bidder gets the second spot and so on. This is the norm, but not necessarily so.
You can also get the top spots and pay next to nothing or pay a fortune. You can also pay a fortune and end up in a low spot. How? Your Quality Score has everything to do with this. Google rewards those who comply to its unwritten, mysterious rules. You will go through a painfully expensive initiation until you figure it out or quit.
This is how it works:
Price You Pay = Your Maximun Bid Per Click x Quality Score
Quality Score = Ad Relevance + Click Thru Rate + Landing Page Relevance
Approximate Weightings
Most Important = Click Thru Rate 50%+
Ad Relevance = about 25%
Landing Page Relevance = less than 25%
To be fair the Quality Score is NOT the only factor in determining your actual bid price but it plays a very significant part in it and it is something that you can control to a very large extent. Google will not let its secret formula out (or they will have to kill you if you know). But we do know some parts of it, the parts Google wants you to clean up because it affects their business. They will charge you maximum pricing till you go away or fix it. It’s all about the money.
Goodle wants extremely relevant ads and clicks so it can get paid, and for the searcher to come back to search again. The searcher want extremely relevant ads so they can find what they want very quickly. You want relevant ads that give you targeted clicks so you can get sales and you can keep more of your revenue by paying less to Google. So relevancy and Click Thru Rate is very important. Anything you can do to improve this is to your advantage, Google’s advantage and the searcher’s advantage. It is a win-win-win situation.
How do you make $77 million dollars in 1 year? Listen to the interview with Vince James. The guy who did it.


